RIDING THE HIGH ROAD ~ OUT NOW IN PAPERBACK!

Absolutely thrilled to announce that my novel RIDING THE HIGH ROAD is now available in paperback! Its official launch by Fantastic Books Publishing is on October 15th 2023, but the paperback is now on sale, with the ebook available for pre-order, via Amazon

Riding the High Road, my first published novel, tells the story of Sheffield teenager Gethin on a search for his sperm donor father Don, who runs a quirky motorcycle museum in the Scottish Highlands. Gethin’s journey collides with that of adoptee Jez, who persuades him to join her adventures on her Harley motorbike. Meanwhile, Gethin’s lesbian artist mother Pat is left devastated and questioning her worth as an alternative parent. In this road movie adventure, both generations learn the importance of shedding one’s parents’ legacy in order to achieve a true rite of passage.

I am grateful to author Lesley Glaister who has given the following endorsement, which has been used for the book jacket:

Humane, gritty, and atmospheric, Penny Frances’ novel Riding the High Road is a moving, absorbing and addictive read. 

 Penny Frances’ novel, Riding the High Road, takes us on a twisty and atmospheric ride from the north of England to the Scottish Highlands.  Three characters, all in search of human connection, intersect and diverge in an emotionally charged dance, which makes for a nuanced, gripping and moving read. 

The road to publication of my novel has been long and slow, and you can read all about this through my blog, stretching back ten years through the ups and downs and life’s interruptions until I have finally reached this day. My author’s copies are on on their way to me, so I’m still waiting for the moment when I hold my book in my hand. But meanwhile I hope you will be interested enough to buy or pre-order and I very much hope you enjoy the read.

And please, if you do enjoy the book, do consider leaving a review on Amazon and/or Goodreads as this will help to boost it up the Amazon rankings.

And for those in Sheffield I’d love to see you at the Writers Workshop Sounds About Write event on 21st September, where I will be featured alongside award winning novelist Gavin Extence. I will be reading from my novel and talking about my writing journey, and there will be an opportunity to buy signed copies of Riding the High Road as well.

You can also listen out for me on Sheffield Live Radio on September 15th, more details to follow.

With thanks to all my followers for all your support ~ please continue to WATCH THIS SPACE

If you’d like to keep in touch with my blog, just add your email in the FOLLOW MY BLOG BY EMAIL to the left or bottom of this page.

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Facebook

One thought on “RIDING THE HIGH ROAD ~ OUT NOW IN PAPERBACK!

  1. […] other news, Pen’s novel is out – see here – and it’s been great to finally read the finished book. It’s being launched in Sheffield […]

Leave a comment